Fabulous French Onion Soup

I recently bought a mandolin slicer and it has transformed the way I slice vegetables  Watching my sister-in-law on Christmas Day as she quickly put together a potato and pumpkin casserole made me realise I was missing a vital piece of equipment in my kitchen!  So the very next day I went out an bought one…  If you haven’t got one of these magical gadgets – do yourself a favour – they are terrific!

I used to spend ages slicing the onions for this soup while wearing my sunglasses and holding a piece of bread between my teeth to stop the tears – don’t laugh it actually works!

Now all I have to do is trim the onions and retain a little of the root and in seemingly minutes, I have a bowl of perfectly thinly sliced onions…

We like our soup strong and very oniony – you can add some additional water if it’s too strong but I think this one is just about perfect…

This makes about 6 – 8 good size serves and freezes very well.

French Onion Soup

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons of butter

1 tablespoon of olive oil

2 kg (12) brown onions

2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons brown sugar

½ cup red wine

2 tablespoons of plain flour

8 cups beef stock

Thickly sliced sourdough bread

Gruyère cheese for topping

Finely chopped parsley for decoration

Method:

Heat butter and oil in a heavy-based saucepan over medium-low heat until sizzling.

Add onions and salt.

Cook, uncovered, stirring often, for 45 to 50 minutes or until onions are very soft.

Stir in sugar and red wine and cook, stirring often, for 10 minutes or until onions caramelise.

Add flour to saucepan and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes.

Add stock and reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes to allow flavours to combine.

Place bread under grill and toast on one side.

Flip bread over and top with cheese and grill until golden and sizzling.

Pour soup into a bowl and place the toasted cheese bread on top.

Sprinkle with finely chopped parsley.

Bon Appetit!  🙂

Leave a Reply

